Windfall Apple Cake

As mentioned in a recent post I have an abundance of apples overhanging my garden from neighbouring trees. We’ve just had some rain after a long, hot, dry spell so I’m trying to resist picking them yet as I think they’ll swell in size if left a little longer.  It’s a real balancing act though because I do want to pick them before they fall and become bruised. In the meantime I’m collecting those that have dropped sooner, most of which seem to have some insect damage or slight disease which can be cut away making them perfect for my Windfall Apple Cake which uses chopped apple. It is delicious and can be baked in a loaf tin or round cake tin.  I tend to use the loaf tin if it’s to be served as a slice of cake with tea or coffee and a round tin if I’m serving it warm as a dessert with cream, ice cream, creme fraiche or custard. The landscapers working on my garden have been enjoying it freshly baked, and still warm from the oven, for their afternoon tea break the past few days, They must like it, today I suggested making Lemon Drizzle Cake for them but they politely asked if they could have the Apple Cake!

Warm from the oven

2 thoughts on “Windfall Apple Cake

Leave a Reply

