So Many Ends

I’m delighted to report that I’ve almost finished my Funfair crocheted blanket. I decided to create my own edging border even though I really like the one Hannah used in her ‘crochet along’ Stripey Blanket, the pattern I’ve followed diligently until the edge. I did as many crocheters do and as Hannah constantly reminded… crocheted over my ‘ends’ so that I wouldn’t have the laborious task of sewing them all in once it was complete. However, when I’d finished I really didn’t like the appearance of some of them and decided they would look better woven in with a wool needle so most of them were released and have had a few days of freedom floating around at the edge of the blanket. Almost half have been recaptured and I’m much happier with the result. I think the problem was where the pattern created a more open effect and the blanket has been moved around during its creation the ends just didn’t lay flat and visually they jumped out at me.

In the process of finding a new home for Funfair Blanket, I intend to raise funds for my favourite charity… Sense.  So what do I do? Auction it online, auction it at an event, raffle it? All ideas welcomed.

I happened to have the unfinished blanket with me at a Sense event at the weekend… https://twitter.com/Sensetweets/status/391555273736728576

2 thoughts on “So Many Ends

  1. Very excited to see the edging you settle on eventually. It was a great CAL and I am sure many of us will return to do it again in the future, I know I will. I think it will be a lovely prize, do SENSE have a Christmas event where it could be a centrepiece in a raffle or auction so you can maximise on the funds raised?

  2. Thanks for your comment.

    I will photograph and explain the edging, it’s very simple and I think suits my blanket. I’m sure there will be many small events for the wide range of people involved with Sense; I would like to try and reach out to a wider audience but I suppose I haven’t yet defined who they are or where I will find them. In the meantime, looking for ideas. And yes, I too will return to the CAL, loved doing it!

Leave a Reply

